PR and Marketing for the Golf Industry

Revolutionary 139th Open Championship

Revolutionary 139th Open Championship

27. 4. 2010

The Open Championship Press Conference held by the R&A this morning in St Andrews saw some important announcements made regarding the 139th edition of golf’s oldest major.

To commemorate the 150th anniversary of the first staging of The Open at Prestwick in 1860, Past Champions have been invited to play four holes of the Old Course, the first, second, 17th and 18th, on the afternoon of Wednesday 14 July. The prize fund of GBP 50 000 will be donated to a charitable organisation of the winner’s choice. A 150th Anniversary Pictorial History of the Open Championship book will also be available.

The oldest course in the world will host The Open Championship for the 28th time this year. More than 600 years of history will blend with the most advanced technology to deliver an unforgettable experience for both the players and the spectators on site as well as the TV audience. For the first time the broadcasting coverage will be delivered in High Definition. The Old Course is also the first golf course in the world to have kilometres of fibre optic cable running around the entire length of the course to enable more efficient management of digital content including broadcast and image distribution.

The “old lady”, however, will face the world golfing elite in more or less unchanged form. The only substantial change to the course is a new championship tee on the famous Road Hole which lengthens the hole by 40 yards.

The grandstands that are currently being erected around the Old Course will seat 21 500 people, the highest number ever in the history of The Open Championship. The championship is expected to attract a crowd of over 200,000.

Posted on June 6, 2011 by admin@golfcomms

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


21,645 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>